A long overdue food journal |||

The Gallery Cafe

The Gallery cafe on Paradise road is housed in renowned architect Geoffrey Bawa’s previous office. Before he died he personally approved converting some of the space into a cafe, and it now houses artisan shops and rooms within the premises. A really inviting space that is away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo.

I had a roadside chai to start which was so spicy, sweet, and packed full of cinnamon and cardamom it would easily double as my dessert choice, which it did in the end. The black pork curry is unreal, I mean the tanginess and tenderness of the curry is something I have not been able to duplicate at home, I must find the recipe!! We were also able to secure a salad which I find is rare in these parts, need to load up on the veg while we can! This is a really cool dining space with an excellent cake selection at the front, if I could have stomached more food I would have gone to town. A worthy pit stop in Colombo!

Price per head: £15 with a drink

Black pepper porkBlack pepper pork

Spiced chaiSpiced chai

Up next Palmyrah Restaurant Brawn
Latest posts Le Bab Le Relais de Venise The Barbary next door Stud!o ILUKA The Pearly Queen Taku Jikoni Chet’s Ministry of Crab Brawn The Gallery Cafe Palmyrah Restaurant Humble Chicken Fatt Pundit Speedboat Bar A.Wong The Barbary Frenchie Orasay Narisawa The X Pot Claude Bosi at Bibendum Hélène Darroze at The Connaught Osteria Francescana Endo at Rotunda La Dame de Pic Landeau Chocolate Lyon’s Seafood Restaurant & Wine Bar Quilon San Ho Wan