A long overdue food journal |||

The Tamil Prince

I’ve been meaning to try the Tamil Prince since it popped up in my Yonder feed and a recent Guardian review. The food looked authentic, and with a limited menu I figured whatever they are cooking will be bloody good. I’m happy to report it did not disappoint, for my brother who was in town for a few days this was his favourite spot we tried. Tucked away on a discreet residential street, this tiny boozer has a discreet bar and simple table set up, the back of the pub has a glass window where you can see the chefs hard at work.

The food is outstanding, my mum was always a fan of Okra so whenever I see it on the menu I’m going for it. These were lightly battered, I think with some turmeric so it had a nice golden colour. A very generous portion so be warned if you go in a small group and want to try loads. The standout for my brother was the Lamb Chops, we both commented that the marinade had some serious heat, the chops were juicy, tender and perfectly grilled. I’ll be honest, I regret not being able to order more but since we had an early diner we had to exercise self control. I’ll also advise that the drinks/cocktails looked really interesting, I tried their desi mocktail which was refreshing given the mint and mango in it.

This is a great spot serving excellent food, the only downside is the fact it’s not the easiest location to get to, but if you can get onto the overground I encourage you to give it a go, it’s the perfect way to spend a Saturday afternoon with friends, or in my case a perfect spot for a final lunch with my brother!

Price per head: £40 with a drink

Desi MocktailDesi Mocktail

Okra friesOkra fries

Lamb ChopsLamb Chops

Up next Dishoom The Parakeet Pub
Latest posts Gymkhana Amber Le Bab Le Relais de Venise The Barbary next door Stud!o ILUKA The Pearly Queen Taku Jikoni Chet’s Ministry of Crab Brawn The Gallery Cafe Palmyrah Restaurant Humble Chicken Fatt Pundit Speedboat Bar A.Wong The Barbary Frenchie Orasay Narisawa The X Pot Claude Bosi at Bibendum Hélène Darroze at The Connaught Osteria Francescana Endo at Rotunda La Dame de Pic Landeau Chocolate Lyon’s Seafood Restaurant & Wine Bar