A long overdue food journal |||

A.Wong

What a fabulous name for a restaurant. A.Wong has held 2 Michelin stars for a few years now, it’s been on my list for years to try, but the last time I made a reservation I made the mistake of mentioning that I had a mild allergy to a few things and they promptly cancelled my reservation as they don’t do substitutes. Thankfully, this time I kept my mouth shut as any allergy I have is not life threatening, and this place was worth a try after so many years.

We opted for the Touch of the Heart” tasting menu for lunch, which to my surprise and dread came with a 6 glass matching wine pairing. I was definitely feeling it by the end of the meal, thankfully the meal was delightful and surprising given I’ve had most of the dishes but never prepared in such a delicate manner. This is Dim Sum done to fine dining standards, with a kick ass wine pairing to boot. I will say, their duck egg custard bun is hands down the best custard bun I have ever had. It’s worth a trip just to delight in that.

Price per head: £175 with wine pairing

Clear shrimp dumpling, Pork and prawn dumplingClear shrimp dumpling, Pork and prawn dumpling

XiaolongbaoXiaolongbao

Memories of peking duckMemories of peking duck

Seared scallop and honey glazed Iberico pork cheung funSeared scallop and honey glazed Iberico pork cheung fun

BBQ pork crackling with prawn, plum and truffleBBQ pork crackling with prawn, plum and truffle

Duck egg custard bunDuck egg custard bun

Petits foursPetits fours

Up next The Barbary Speedboat Bar
Latest posts Le Bab Le Relais de Venise The Barbary next door Stud!o ILUKA The Pearly Queen Taku Jikoni Chet’s Ministry of Crab Brawn The Gallery Cafe Palmyrah Restaurant Humble Chicken Fatt Pundit Speedboat Bar A.Wong The Barbary Frenchie Orasay Narisawa The X Pot Claude Bosi at Bibendum Hélène Darroze at The Connaught Osteria Francescana Endo at Rotunda La Dame de Pic Landeau Chocolate Lyon’s Seafood Restaurant & Wine Bar Quilon San Ho Wan