A long overdue food journal |||

Restaurant Story

I’ve had the good fortune of dining at Restaurant Story a few times, my first being 2014. Since then, they have collected two Michelin stars and are consistently voted one of the best restaurants in London. Opened by Tom Sellers who had stints at places like (surprise) Noma! Tom Aikens and Per Se, he opened this London Bridge spot at just 26 years old!

Story tends to lead with a tasting menu and I would suggest you follow suit. Over the years they have created a number of menus but they tend to keep a few stand outs which I will talk about. The snacks” portion of your meal will always deliver, from the StoryO to delicious foie gras bites, you know you are in for a treat once those first few small bites go down. It seems strange to talk about bread, but the Candle” dish is iconic. Not sure I’ve tasted anything more delicious than a beef dripping candle that you soak up with sourdough bread. The sheer creativity of the dish should astound, but it’s also an incredibly delicious dish that will undoubtedly demand a request for more bread so none of this candle” goes to waste. The Custard dish of Pumpkin, Oscietra caviar & maple was delicious, while the Cod in brassicas, truffle, and vin jaune is another stand out. What I love about Story is that they are equal opportunists, and provide a mix of vegetarian, meat, and seafood dishes as part of the whole experience. Variety is king here! I’ve always been a fan of their desserts, the Paddington Bear which consists of foie gras, cardamom, and marmalade is a one bite delight, strange to think of foie gras in a dessert but it works. Another consistent entry over the years is their Almond & Dill, think of this as a palette cleanser for whatever final dish they will serve.

I’ll only ever write about service at restaurants if it’s memorable, and Story over the years has delivered exceptional service, from an introduction to the kitchen staff and tour of the kitchen, to correcting a delivery issue with one of their Story boxes during lockdown. I’ve only ever had amazing interactions with the team. The last time I was there, they made a point to welcome and thank me for coming back over the years. When I asked how they knew I’d been to the restaurant over the years, they told me that they do a briefing before every seating so they know all the patrons coming through their doors. Story is a place where friendly, knowledgable staff greet you like an old friend coming back to visit after a period away, in a polished but unstuffy space that lets you relax. Like I said, I’ve been going back since 2014 and will continue to do so, I mean beef dripping candle fat with bread. What’s not to love!

Price per head: £400 and up with drinks

StoryOStoryO

Foie GrasFoie Gras

CandleCandle

CodCod

CustardCustard

Paddington BearPaddington Bear

Almond DillAlmond Dill

Up next Ikoyi Den
Latest posts Gymkhana Amber Le Bab Le Relais de Venise The Barbary next door Stud!o ILUKA The Pearly Queen Taku Jikoni Chet’s Ministry of Crab Brawn The Gallery Cafe Palmyrah Restaurant Humble Chicken Fatt Pundit Speedboat Bar A.Wong The Barbary Frenchie Orasay Narisawa The X Pot Claude Bosi at Bibendum Hélène Darroze at The Connaught Osteria Francescana Endo at Rotunda La Dame de Pic Landeau Chocolate Lyon’s Seafood Restaurant & Wine Bar