A long overdue food journal |||

Bao Noodles

Bao have been killing it the last few years and in some ways started the craze of pillowy buns filled with savoury goodness. Now they’ve expanded the repertoire to include things like rich beef butter stew, Taiwanese fried chicken, and other small bites that makes me wish I ate here with people as opposed to a quick business lunch alone. The Shoreditch location does a £15 set menu, all the things I’ve mentioned above are part of the deal, I opted for the classic Bao and it never disappoints. Followed by a more than generous portion of Taiwanese fried chicken, I was amazed I had the space to eat my noodle soup. Always a dangerous endeavour when you’re wearing a white shirt. The drinks menu is quite interesting, I asked about the Peanut milk and was quickly told it’s the most popular drink on the menu. I tried it and I was surprised at how refreshing it was, I thought it would be overly sweet but to my surprise it was not. This is great value for a quick lunch in Shoreditch!

Price per head: £20-£25 with a drink

Rich beef stewRich beef stew

Taiwanese fried chickenTaiwanese fried chicken

Classic BaoClassic Bao

Peanut MilkPeanut Milk

Up next Da Terra Dishoom
Latest posts Gymkhana Amber Le Bab Le Relais de Venise The Barbary next door Stud!o ILUKA The Pearly Queen Taku Jikoni Chet’s Ministry of Crab Brawn The Gallery Cafe Palmyrah Restaurant Humble Chicken Fatt Pundit Speedboat Bar A.Wong The Barbary Frenchie Orasay Narisawa The X Pot Claude Bosi at Bibendum Hélène Darroze at The Connaught Osteria Francescana Endo at Rotunda La Dame de Pic Landeau Chocolate Lyon’s Seafood Restaurant & Wine Bar